• If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • You already know Dokkio is an AI-powered assistant to organize & manage your digital files & messages. Very soon, Dokkio will support Outlook as well as One Drive. Check it out today!



Page history last edited by smacnicoll@... 15 years, 4 months ago

Costa Rica is a democratic republic.  The capital city is San Jose. There are seven provinces  (provincias, singular - provincia); Alajuela, Cartago, Guanacaste, Heredia, Limon, Puntarenas, and San Jose. Their constitution was signed November 7,  194. 

The president is President Oscar ARIAS Sanchez (since 8 May 2006). Like the United states the president and vice president are elected on a single ticket and serve for four years.

Óscar Arias

Óscar Rafael de Jesús Arias Sánchez (born 13 September 1940) is the current President of Costa Rica



Legislative Assembly or Asamblea Legislativa (57 seats; members are elected by direct, popular vote to serve four-year terms) There are many political parties.


The Supreme Court or Corte Suprema (22 justices are elected for renewable eight-year terms by the Legislative Assembly)


Comments (1)

smacnicoll@... said

at 5:34 am on Mar 12, 2009

What type of government do they have in Costa Rica? Do they have a president? Do they have congress or governors? How about mayors? Do people vote - is it a democracy?

You don't have permission to comment on this page.